SA Championship and National Women’s Championship 2023

Book your place now for the South Australian Scrabble Championship. Join in the battle for Scrabble SA’s biggest title.

The SA Scrabble Championship 2023 starts Saturday 11 March at the Prospect Primary School Gymnasium, 27 Gladstone Rd, Prospect. The Championship will again be an open tournament over 2 days (March 11-12) with 16 games, directed by James Gunner. Registration on Saturday is 8:00-8:30 am. We will play 9 games on Saturday and 7 games on Sunday.

The dictionary will be the unexpurgated CSW19. This tournament is an excellent warm up for the National Scrabble Championship.

The Championship is open to people of all playing abilities. There are prizes for first to 5th places and also for High Word, High Game and a rating band prize  (aka Best of the Bottom Half or the Tilde Prize). There will also be a novelty word competition where you can win a chocolate bar.

Tea, coffee and light snacks will be provided. Lunch is available from shops on Prospect Road which is short walk from the venue.


All participants and guests are welcome to attend our Saturday dinner which will be held at a venue to be announced.


The entry fee will be $60 for members of a state Scrabble association and $70 for non-members. 

Payment of your entry fee can be made by bank transfer (before Friday 10th March). 

Bank transfer can be made to:
BSB: 105 077
Acc: 299040440
“Australian Scrabble Association of SA” or just “Scrabble SA”
Please use a description in your bank transfer which identifies who you are. If you are paying on the day, please bring the correct money. 

Australian Women’s Championship

If you identify as the appropriate gender please consider entering the Australian Women’s Championship. This will be held the day after the State Championship on Monday, March 13 at the same venue. The entry fee for the Women’s Championship is $30 for members and $35 for non-members.


March is the festival season in Adelaide, so there are plenty of side-activities to keep you entertained during your stay:

Adelaide Fringe:

Adelaide Festival:

Adelaide Cup:


If you are intending to come to the  tournament and are not on the list below please reply to this email.  If you have any questions about this tournament please also contact me.

Antony Kimber
Phone: 0487 122 347

SA Scrabble Championship Results

SA Champion Daniel Piechnick receives his trophies from Judy Mansfield (Treasurer) and Jane Taylor (President)

South Australia had its biggest weekend of scrabble on 12th and 13th of March. The tournament was held at the Prospect Primary school hall. Sixteen games of Scrabble were played over the two days.

The prize winners were:

  • 1st Place: Daniel Piechnick (12 wins, 1343 margin)
  • 2nd Place: Karen Richards (12 wins, 855 margin)
  • 3rd Place: Antony Kimber (12 wins, 680 margin)
  • 4th Place: Adam Kretschmer (11 wins, 285 margin)
  • 5th Place: Carmel Dodd (10 wins, 309 margin)
  • High Game: Geoff Wright (562 points)
  • High Word: Julie Robins (194 points for DELAYERS)

Division B:

  • 1st Place: Victoria Gates (9 wins, 193 margin)
  • 2nd Place: Teresa Dean (9 wins, -38 margin)
  • 3rd Place: Neal Whibley (8.5 wins, -7 margin)
  • High Game: Mel Leckie (547 points)
  • High Word: Louisa Atsas

Full results are available at:

Scrabble SA Wants Your Rotating Board

Rotating board are becoming increasing difficult to acquire. Most boards were acquired from countries with scant regard for the Hasbro intellectual property. This practice is being clamped down on by the Scrabble trademark owner. If you have a rotating board Scrabble SA will consider purchasing it from you, if it is still in good condition.

If you would like to sell your board please contact one of the committee members.

Battle of the Sexes

South Australia had a return to its Battle of the Sexes tournament today. Those identifying with a more masculine gender won 31.5 games. Those identifying with a more feminine gender won 13.5 games.


       5 games

       W     M                       Old   Chg  New

  1    4  +725 Daniel Piechnick     1812   -10 1802

  2    4  +635 Adam Kretschmer      1741   -10 1731

  3    4  +430 Michael Vnuk         1507    +4 1511

  4    4  +348 Antonios Syrigos     1457    +7 1464

  5    4  +337 Neal Whibley          941   +37  978

  6    4  +220 Dieter Jedamski      1198   +34 1232

  7    4   -69 Susan Roberts        1315   +30 1345

  8  3.5  +408 Tony Miller          1562   -15 1547

  9    3  +441 Antony Kimber        1542   -19 1523

10    3   +61 Jane Taylor          1501    +6 1507

11  2.5   -96 Rowena Vnuk          1166   +23 1189

12    2   +13 Carmel Dodd          1620   -32 1588

13    2   -85 Francoise Finlayson  1225   +11 1236

14    2  -197 Louisa Atsas          989    -2  987

15    2  -272 Paula Brown           776   +14  790

16    2  -279&Mary Jane Yaba      ( 500)     ( 699)

17    2  -386 Mel Leckie            752   +14  766

18    1  -102 Emanuel Atsas         885   -26  859

19    1  -215 Elana Jaremyn         949   -13  936

20    1  -286 Judy Mansfield       1128   -31 1097

21    0  -814&Julie Hambour       ( 508)     ( 519)

22    0  -817*Geraldine Slattery             ( 506)

High game Daniel Piechnick 582

High word Daniel Piechnick EXCELSIOR 104

Geraldine Slattery was previously unrated

Mary Jane Yaba is still provisional (12 games)

Julie Hambour is still provisional (16 games)

Speedy World* Championship 2018

*as far as we can tell 😛

South Australia has held its annual Speedy tournament.  10 games played under speedy conditions (12 minutes per game).  Tracey Kneebone dominated; winning 9 out of 10 games, finishing 2 games ahead of Tony Miller in second and Carmel Dodd in third.

20180602_094543Tracey Kneebone - Winner of the Speedy Tournament

20 players converged on the Unley Bridge club for the tournament.  Because of the numbers, we played in a single open division with prizes in two ratings bands.  Adam Kretschmer was working hard as Tournament Director and computer operator making sure the next round was always available.  The tournament was paired as a lagged swiss draw so that people weren’t waiting and could jump into the next game.

There was a novelty prize for the 6 “fastest” words as judged by Adam.  Winners collected a block of chocolate.  Among the winners: JET, EMU, BULLET.

One highlight was in my game against Julie Robins who bonussed from the rack IIESSS? depriving me of a lot of premium tiles in a single move.

A quick run down of the winners:
1st Tracey Kneebone
2nd Tony Miller
3rd Carmel Dodd
High Game – Oliver Jenner-O’Shea – 565
High Word – Antony Kimber – MUFFLES 106
~1st Joyce Browett
~2nd Louisa Atsas
~3rd Margaret Gibson
~High Word – Victoria Gates – TRASHERS 92

Speedy Ratings are available in the resources section.